↑ top

University of Michigan’s Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Initiative (DEI)

University of Michigan’s Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Initiative (DEI)

The University of Michigan is undertaking a campus-wide Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Strategic Planning Initiative. In order to help create the vision and contribute to the future by providing ideas and offering solutions, the university is engaging in conversations with students, faculty and staff to create a longer-term strategic action plan.   

For many years Taubman College has pursued policies and initiatives aimed at making the college a diverse, equitable and inclusive environment for students, staff and faculty. As part of the President’s Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Initiative (DEI), launched in Fall 2015, we are taking an in-depth look at how we can improve upon our efforts. We have assembled a principal committee that is hard at work drafting a Strategic Plan for our college as mandated by the university. This plan will be submitted and approved between March 15 and July of this year, and fully implemented in Fall 2016. Our goal is to transform our college by aggressively working on existing and new initiatives to create a more diverse student body, faculty and staff; by working to address instances of bias, harassment or discrimination; and by making sure that the in-class and extracurricular interactions are respectful yet robust and open.

Taubman College hosted a series of Town Halls in winter 2016, moderated by independent organizations, to gather input for such action plans. The student town halls were facilitated by trained University of Michiganp moderators, independent of college faculty or staff. 

Taubman College Strategic Diversity Plan (PDF)

Taubman Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Initiative Timeline

October 2015: Taubman Diversity Committee Appointed
October 2015 - February 2016: Data Collection
February 2016: Climate Surveys and Town Halls
January 2016 - April 2016: Strategic Plan Drafted and Revised
May 2016: Final Strategic Plan Submitted to the President’s Office
September 2016: Strategic Plan Implementation

Taubman Diversity Committee

Milton S.F. Curry, Taubman DEI Planning Lead
Associate Dean and Associate Professor of Architecture

Robert Adams, Associate Professor of Architecture

Scott Campbell, Associate Professor of Urban and Regional Planning

Malcolm McCullough, Professor of Architecture

Mitch McEwen, Assistant Professor of Architecture

Thomas Moran, Assistant Professor of Architecture

Ana Paula Pimentel Walker, Assistant Professor in Urban and Regional Planning

Anca Trandafirescu, Assistant Professor of Architecture

Kate Grandfield, Administrative Specialist

Meghan Lee, Academic Adviser

Jeanette Turner, Instructional Technology Lead

Margo Jones, Master of Architecture Student

Russell Pildes, Master of Urban Planning Student